NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Betting Preview

Posted by Aaron . on May 19, 2016 in

If you’re new to the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, here are some of the basics for you. To qualify, you must have won a race in 2015 or 2016, or you must have won a past All-Star race, or you could be a Sprint Showdown flight winner, as three of those get in, and then fan voting picks the last driver. Find the latest NASCAR betting odds here.

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Betting Preview

When: Saturday, May 21, 2016, 9:16 PM Eastern time
Where: Charlotte Motor Speedway, Charlotte, NC
Radio: Motor Racing Network / Sirius XM Channel 90
Live Stream: Fox Sports Go



The race consists of two 50-lap segments, followed by a 13-lap haul to the end. The running order in the first segment is determined from qualifying speeds, and it will include a required green flag pit stop for a change of at least two tires. The order in the second segment comes from the race at the end of the first segment, and the second segment requires another stop for at least two tires by Lap 85.

The order in the last segment is a random draw, and the top 9, 10 or 11 cars have to pit for four tires. The cars in front will go on skinned wheels, and the ones in back will have 13 laps to catch up on new tires.

What about Jamie McMurray?

He’s clearly in the second tier, but he is a past All-Star Race champion. However, the chaotic nature of that last segment makes picking a winner here difficult, because we don’t know who has to make that final pit stpo for four tires.

So who are the eligible drivers? McMurray, but also: Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Martin Truex, Jr. and Kyle Busch. These (and Carl Edwards) are in because they had at least one win in 2015. Tony Stewart is in as the Premier series champion. McMurray is a past All-Star winner, as are Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman. We’re still waiting (as of May 19) for the Sprint Shodown segment winners and the fan vote winner.

Expert Pick and Final Winner Prediction

In this betting preview, we like Carl Edwards to win. He won the Sprint All-Star Race in 2011 (although in a different format). The way this race goes, with the mandatory tire changes, a driver will need an elite pit crew in order to advance, and Edwards has one of the top crews. All of the crews should be able to get all their drivers up and running between 10 ½ and 12 seconds, but every split second counts in races like this. Edwards is also the reigning winner of the Coke 600.